On Sep 15, the Punjab govt. presented a plan to bifurcate Lahore into two districts on an administrative basis. According to the shared plan, Lahore would be split into two districts, Lahore City and Lahore Saddar. Where Model Town, Raiwind, Lahore City, Thokar Niaz Baig, and Kahna will be part of Lahore City District, while Ferozewala, Harbanspura, and Shalimar would be included in the Saddar District.  And both districts will have their own deputy commissioners. In addition, the distribution of will be of office buildings and other assets.


For this purpose, a DC was charged with accelerating work on Project Concept to examine the impact of such a separation on the city populace.


Additionally, under this plan, five new tehsils of Ferozewala, Kahna, Thokar Niaz Baig, Harbanspura, and Kot Abdul Malik will be created.


Impact of such division on the city populace:


The study revealed that Lahore has grown in all directions in population growth and urban development since 1947. Analysis showed that the physical configuration of the Lahore district has been affected & mismanaged by numerous constraints, like River Ravi, which threatens the physical expansion of the built-up area.


Also, this 2nd largest and populated city is facing congestion at the City center, traffic problems, solid waste management, and depleted housing conditions within the core of the City that force people to move to the outskirts of the country. As well as, densification of the built-up area, filling in of the vacant pockets of land in the City has been one of the factors of vegetation loss issues that will be solved.


Therefore, managerial reform was necessary to address the problems caused by the growing population of the city. Lahore subdivision in two districts will improve the development process along with other benefits in the areas.